Lace OTN and a Quandry

I’ve spent the past few days knitting on an old WIP, the Cloisters Wrap. It’s coming along very quickly and I’m feeling a little guilt over the fact that it was the first lace project I cast on in 2011 and it’s now October and still unfinished. Only four repeats of the next to the last chart, the final chart and a bind off remain. I’m determined to finish it quickly – and before casting on another project.var gaJsHost = ((“https:” == document.location.protocol) ? “https://ssl.” : “http://www.”);document.write(unescape(“%3Cscript src='” + gaJsHost + “google-analytics.com/ga.js’ type=’text/javascript’%3E%3C/script%3E”)); var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker(“UA-xxxxxx-x”);pageTracker._trackPageview();

The colorway is Salsa Dancing in Oak Barn Merino. It’ll be perfect to chase away the dreariness of any winter weather we may, don’t you think? 
My next lace shawl has already been decided. I’m very excited about casting on Magpie by my friend Veronica over at Wandering Cat Studio. Isn’t it lovely!!
My initial plan was to use Oak Barn Merino in colorway 1970’s (a warm harvest gold) and some copper beads that I bought at The Bead Merchant in Tulsa. But when I was at the shop I also bought bought two bags of Silver-lined Alexandrite (They have the barest hint of lavender in them!). They’ve been on my desk calling a sirens song and I may have to switch yarns just so I can use them. Fortunately I have a skein from the line of sock yarn that I sold last year set aside and it’d be quite pretty with the Alexandrite beads. 
Decisions. Decisions. 
So – do I use half of a skein of Oak Barn and the beads that match, or use the full skein of Lost City Sock and the beads that match, therefore saving the 1000 yards of Oak Barn for another project? Note that the Magpie calls for a light sock weight yarn – not that that’s ever stopped me from using lace weight before. 
6 thoughts on “Lace OTN and a Quandry

  1. I vote for the golden color, with the copperish beads. I think it's a lovely color, perfect for autumn knitting.

    The purple color looks to me like the first flowers of spring…I'd save it for spring knitting.

Leave a Reply

