Frog or Finish and the love of skirts.

var gaJsHost = ((“https:” == document.location.protocol) ? “https://ssl.” : “http://www.”);
document.write(unescape(“%3Cscript src='” + gaJsHost + “google-analytics.com/ga.js’ type=’text/javascript’%3E%3C/script%3E”));

var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker(“UA-xxxxxx-x”);
pageTracker._trackPageview();

I frogged a couple of things this weekend and suddenly I’m stocked back up on stitch markers and row counters! I love how that works.

Here’s a tip which I recommend (although haven’t instituted and found out the hard way) – organize your needles and cords before you begin frogging. Just sayin’.

Last night I spent an hour or so on the Bryn Mawr Skirt and it’s coming along nicely. I’m all about knitting skirts suddenly. The yarn I’m using for the Bryn Mawr is Berroco Vintage Chunky in a rich bright brown chestnut. (Yes, brown can be bright.)

The discovery of the day is five skeins of Berroco Ultra Alpaca – plus the knitted front and back of A Sweater I Will Not Wear in the same yarn.

I do believe this means I’ll have enough yarn for the Isobel Skirt from Interweave Winter 2010! There will be frogging of that sweater tonight. Everything will go in a nice new project bag with a copy of the pattern. See how organized I can be?

Here’s the Isobel Skirt.

Isobell Skirt

Yes, I realize I’m not that thin (and haven’t been in ummmm decades) but I think I can pull it off.

Looking at this pattern on Ravelry led me to remember the Claudia evilla skirt pattern that the Yarn Harlot blogged about some time back. Here’s a link.

I believe I can knit that with some of my Lost City Knits Wool Tussah Silk yarn and not in a multi-colored yarn but a near solid. The question is what colorway?

Of course once I have the skirts knit I’m going to need more knee socks…

3 thoughts on “Frog or Finish and the love of skirts.

  1. It is so much fun to see and do knitting for Fall again. 🙂 Of course, we can do it all year round, but it is really nice to do it on a cool evening. We'll be where it is warm in a couple of weeks, but I'll be knitting things for cool weather to use when we get home.

  2. Man, I LOVE Berocco Vintage. It's a great yarn.
    I still don't know how I feel about knit skirts, they seem like they'd cling too much for my rubenesque figure. Looking forward to seeing if it works for you.

Leave a Reply

