Sweet Days of Summer

See the curtains hangin’ in the window
In the evening on a Friday night
A little light-a-shinin’ through the window
Lets me know everything’s all right

No doubt if you came of age during the mid-1970’s as I did the lyrics from this Seals and Crofts hit breezes through your mind at least once during the summer months. As I walked back from the studio this afternoon with camera in hand I managed to capture a few moments of the feeling of this song. Imagine the soft vocals of Jim Seals and Dash Crofts. You’ll be kind enough to ignore that it’s not Friday night and honestly – it’s not jasmine in my mind – it’s lavender in the air. (I think Dash and Jim would understand.)

Female Eastern Tiger Swallowtail

Summer breeze makes me feel fine
Blowin’ through the jasmine in my mind

Summer breeze makes me feel fine
Blowin’ though the jasmine in my mind

See the paper layin’ on the sidewalk
A little music from the house next door
So I walk on up to the doorstep
Through the screen and across the floor

Summer breeze makes me feel fine
Blowin’ through the jasmine in my mind

Summer breeze makes me feel fine
Blowin’ though the jasmine in my mind

Male Clouded Sulpher
Sweet days of summer — the jasmine’s in bloom
July is dressed up and playing her tune
And I come home from a hard day’s work
And you’re waitin’ there
Not a care in the world
See the smile awaitin’ in the kitchen
Through cookin’ and the plates for two
Feel the arms that reach out to hold me
In the evening when the day is through

In reality Chris was still working up in the new lavender field and I was the one to get dinner cookin’ tonight. If I step out the back door of my studio I face the sunflower field and while it’s lavender in the air, a field of sunflowers is just as pleasant to watch. Each day as the sun dips westward the flowers tip their heads to the sun to catch the last rays. I never tire of noticing this. Never.

We planted five different cultivars in all, ranging from lemon yellow to bright orange – and of course the all purpose black oil seed sunflowers that I intend to dry for winter bird feeding.
Wool Tussah Silk Single Ply Lace Yarns

Not only are flowers blooming and butterflies flitting but there are new yarns as well. This is one I’m particularly excited about. I’ve combined an Oklahoma wool with 30% tussah silk and had it spun single ply into a great little lace yarn. The first colorways are up for sale in the Wool Tussah Silk online shop, and a few more colorways are coming as soon as they dry.

I’ve already snagged a skein of the Wine and Roses in the single ply to knit a new Pecan Grove Scarf. I love the little bit of sheen that the wool gets from the silk, it’s just enough to keep the color from being flat and still have that nice solidness of wool. There’s some of that little thick-thin play that will keep me interested as well.

Summer breeze makes me feel fine
Blowin’ through the jasmine in my mind

Summer breeze makes me feel fine
Blowin’ though the jasmine in my mind

var gaJsHost = ((“https:” == document.location.protocol) ? “https://ssl.” : “http://www.”);document.write(unescape(“%3Cscript src='” + gaJsHost + “google-analytics.com/ga.js’ type=’text/javascript’%3E%3C/script%3E”)); var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker(“UA-xxxxxx-x”);pageTracker._trackPageview();

3 thoughts on “Sweet Days of Summer

  1. Oh yum!

    the butterflies are gorgeous, great pictures.

    But the new yarn…It makes me long for hot dry weather and spices… which is ironic for someone who grew up in Minnesota.

    I particularly love the amber in the middle of the back row.

Leave a Reply

