Summer Sightings

var gaJsHost = ((“https:” == document.location.protocol) ? “https://ssl.” : “http://www.”);document.write(unescape(“%3Cscript src='” + gaJsHost + “google-analytics.com/ga.js’ type=’text/javascript’%3E%3C/script%3E”)); var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker(“UA-xxxxxx-x”);pageTracker._trackPageview();
It’s only the first week of June yet it’s summer – full on summer – in Oklahoma. As I write this post it’s just not quite 2 pm and already over 90 degrees F/ 32.2 degrees C and the temperature is still climbing. Any lengthy time outside results in my feeling like a slug or a puddle or a sloth. I become slow moving and just a little melty.

Despite heat-induced sloth-like behavior I experience, the beauty of the season is hard to ignore. For instance – lilies. How can anyone ignore lilies?

How about this Blackberry Snack ornamental lily?

Or my newest ornamental Elodie.

 Or the abundance of Great Spangled Fritallaries?

I’ve sighted a few Monarch butterflies (of the lepidoptera variety not the fibery kind) and even several wild silk moths here at the farm although I’ve yet to get photographs of any. 

On the fibery goodness front there have been a few new arrivals as well. A big order of local wool just returned from the mill. So far I’ve only dug into the bags of sport weight wool blended with 30% tussah silk to dye. The first colorways are turning out lovely! A few early skeins have been snapped up at our farmers market but I’ll get the skeins photographed and up for sale on the blog this week.

Wool/Tussah Silk Sport Weight 220yds

Wool/Tussah Silk Sport Weight 220yds

This new yarn will be perfect for the Monarch Shawl in it’s original size. One skein, one shawl. I love that. I think you’ll like these colorways too.

In celebration of summer (or maybe as a coping strategy) I’ve declared open season on popsicles!

Let the brain freezes begin!
………..
5 thoughts on “Summer Sightings

Leave a Reply

