Norman May Fair

The weather in Oklahoma can be unpredictable and an outdoor festival in May can hold some surprises. This past weekend’s three day May Fair was both a challenge and a joy. Friday was incredibly windy with gusts around 70mph. Sunday was a complete wash out due to heavy thunderstorms. Saturday though the weather was beautiful and we had a good crowd show up at the park in downtown Norman, OK. It’s always fun to meet and talk to the knitters at festivals.

One of the knitters even took some photos of the yarn in our booth for her 365 in 2011 photos project. How cool is that? If you’re not familiar with the project the website is here – and there is a group on Ravelry as well.

Repurposed Book/Journal from Hillarey

In addition to the festival, I enjoy the Norman event because the Norman Public Library holds their Used Book Sale this weekend each year. Usually I peruse and just purchase what strikes my fancy, but this year I was looking for some interesting books to repurpose as journals. So far I’ve only done a bit of bookbinding in this manner, but I’m pleased with the finished journal although I see some room for improvement. The process is described in detail here and it’s easy enough once you have the tools on hand. I found three small books that I’ll turn into journals in the coming months.

The first time I’d seen repurposing of old books into journals was when our daughter Hillarey gave Christopher and me each one for Christmas a year ago. I instantly loved the size, the cover and the idea of recycling an old book with possibly torn and tattered pages into something useful. What I hadn’t realized until I began using the journal was how warm it felt, the blank pages weren’t blazing white but a little aged and inviting. Some journalers are inhibited by the blank pages of a new journal, that wasn’t a factor at all in this journal.

Here’s a look at the first journal I’ve built. I used white stationary that we’d mistakenly bought at the office supply store. The inside cover is from wrapping paper that covered a gift that Hillarey had given me, and the ribbon page marker was the bow on a gift. I’ve tied a little Venus of Willendorf stitch marker on the bottom of the ribbon. I’ve added a couple of little pockets for jotting notes as well. Sometimes they’re handy for writing book titles down or prompts for later journal entries. I like an elastic band to hold the book together especially once I start stuffing things in it or stuffing it in my purse or daypack. The buttons on the elastic cord are from a tin of old buttons that belonged to Christopher’s grandmother. I’ve added the little frog bead for whimsy and inspiration. The book was a collection of poetry used in Canadian schools and I’ve kept a few pages and bound one of the poems, Poe’s The Raven, about midway in the journal. It was always one of my favorite poems. The cover was a solid salmon color with the publishing company’s logo in the center. It just happens that I have a gold paint pen in my desk drawer, doodling has begun in the corner.

My first bookbinding journal attempt
Inside cover of journal

After closing up our booth on Saturday we walked over a few blocks to where the Norman Music Festival was going on. The music was loud and the people seemed to be having a good time. We managed to find our friend Chef Teri Fermo and her mobile catering vehicle, Jezabel.

Chef Teri!
Jezebel


 

I had other goals on the trip as well. I wanted to finish a test knit of a new pattern which will be released later this month (photos coming soon), and a second little Maaema Scarf. I used one skein of the Merino Angora in colorway Autumnal. The small skein of 220 yards yielded a sweet little scarf that is just the right size if you’re wanting something to wrap around your neck and wear with a brooch. I have a great silver brooch that Hillarey made me several years ago that will work well I think. The finished scarf measures 36 inches long. When it’s dry I’ll post a photo of the scarf with the brooch. I can say that it feels fabulous against the neck!!

Maaema in yellow

Interesting…. It wasn’t until I was adding this photo that I saw that I have an error in the finished scarf! See it midway where the blue and green foam pads meet? Hmm go figure. I think I can live with it. :;grin::
The weather in Oklahoma can be unpredictable and an outdoor festival in May can hold some surprises. This past weekend’s three day May Fair was both a challenge and a joy. Friday was incredibly windy with gusts around 70mph. Sunday was a complete wash out due to heavy thunderstorms. Saturday though the weather was beautiful and we had a good crowd show up at the park in downtown Norman, OK. It’s always fun to meet and talk to the knitters at festivals. One of the knitters even took some photos of the yarn in our booth for her 365 in 2011 photos project. How cool is that? If you’re not familiar with the project the website is here – and there is a group on Ravelry as well. In addition to the festival, I enjoy the Norman event because the Norman Public Library holds their Used Book Sale this weekend each year. Usually I peruse and just purchase what strikes my fancy, but this year I was looking for some interesting books to repurpose as journals. So far I’ve only done a bit of bookbinding in this manner, but I’m pleased with the finished journal although I see some room for improvement. The process is described in detail here and it’s easy enough once you have the tools on hand. I found three small books that I’ll turn into journals in the coming months.The first time I’d seen repurposing of old books into journals was when our daughter Hillarey gave Christopher and I each one for Christmas a year ago. I instantly loved the size, the cover and the idea of recycling an old book with possibly torn and tattered pages into something useful. What I hadn’t realized until I began using the journal was how warm it felt, the blank pages weren’t blazing white but a little aged and inviting. Some journalers are inhibited by the blank pages of a new journal, that wasn’t a factor at all in this journal. Here’s a look at the first journal I’ve built. I used white stationary that we’d mistakenly bought at the office supply store. The inside cover is from wrapping paper that covered a gift that Hillarey had given me, and the ribbon page marker was the bow on a gift. I’ve tied a little Venus of Willendorf stitch marker on the bottom of the ribbon. I’ve added a couple of little pockets for jotting notes as well. Sometimes they’re handy for writing book titles down or prompts for later journal entries. I like an elastic band to hold the book together especially once I start stuffing things in it or stuffing it in my purse or daypack. The buttons on the elastic cord are from a tin of old buttons that belonged to Christopher’s grandmother. I’ve added the little frog bead for whimsy and inspiration. The book was a collection of poetry used in Canadian schools and I’ve kept a few pages and bound one of the poems, Poe’s The Raven, about midway in the journal. It was always one of my favorite poems.
I had other goals on the trip as well. I wanted to finish a test knit of a new pattern which will be released later this month, and a second little Maaema Scarf. I used one skein of the Merino Angora in colorway Autumnal. The small skein of 220 yards yielded a sweet little scarf that is just the right size if you’re wanting something to wrap around your neck and wear with a brooch. I have a great silver brooch that Hillarey made me several years ago that will work well I think. When it’s dry I’ll post a photo of the scarf with the brooch. I can say that it feels fabulous against the neck!!var gaJsHost = ((“https:” == document.location.protocol) ? “https://ssl.” : “http://www.”);document.write(unescape(“%3Cscript src='” + gaJsHost + “google-analytics.com/ga.js’ type=’text/javascript’%3E%3C/script%3E”)); var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker(“UA-xxxxxx-x”);pageTracker._trackPageview();

3 thoughts on “Norman May Fair

  1. Thanks for the link to the journal making post. I must try that. I love yours. And the scarf is beautiful. I learned a while back while tying a silk rug with a woman in Istanbul that every handcrafted object must have a mistake. Perfect in its imperfection.

Leave a Reply

