The Signs of Spring

Here in Oklahoma there are little bits of spring popping up all over the place. The fields while still having some leftover dry stalks of fall grass are greening up quite nicely. Ladybugs and wild honey bees have been flying about. I even saw my first yellow swallowtail butterfly this week.

Sunday afternoon on the Vernal Equinox I drove over to see my friend Jan at Hungry Holler Art Center. Spending a few hours at The Holler is one of the good things you can do for your spirit. Jan is a bit quirky, opinionated, creative, happy and someone I always enjoy chatting with whether it’s via email or in person. Her vivaciousness and enthusiasm is uplifting, her passion for gourds is inspiring, and you just can’t help smile when around her. She also sets a mighty fine table as you can see.

Beautiful Jan

Jan gave me a tour round the acreage which is full of art installations. I especially love the Hard Mattress and the endless concrete creations holding hens and chicks.

Hard Mattress

A visit to Hungry Holler is special, and it’s extra special when creativity is in the air. After consuming such delicacies as Coney Islander coneys, Lays chips, and a couple of Modelo’s, one of Jan and Marc’s next projects arrived, a 1957 boat. Glass, paint, bottle caps and a host of bling that I cannot fathom will turn the old hull into another amazing work of art at Hungry Holler.

A little bit of creativity is springing forth on my needles lately as well. I’m working on a new scarf design that’ll be perfect for just a dash of color and femininity during the warm months. Maaema (pronounced May-emma) is the Estonian name for Mother Earth and a fitting name for this sweet little scarf depicting a field of flowers.

The sample shown here in Lost City Silk, is about half finished. The completed scarf will use about 400yds and be approximately 9-10 inches wide and 60 inches long. As I’m working on the original one of my test knitters is also working on the pattern, which should be available in early April.

If you’ve been waiting on the release of the Sangiovese Stole – it’s here! The pattern is now available in the online pattern shop.

……….
Signs of Spring – Here in Oklahoma there are little bits of spring popping up all over the place. The fields while still having some leftover dry stalks of fall grass are greening up quite nicely. Ladybugs and wild honey bees have been flying about. I even saw my first yellow swallowtail butterfly this week. Sunday afternoon on the Vernal Equinox I drove over to see my friend Jan at Hungry Holler Art Center. Spending a few hours at The Holler is one of the good things you can do for your spirit. Jan is a bit quirky, opinionated, creative, happy and someone I always enjoy chatting with whether it’s via email or in person. Her vivaciousness and enthusiasm is uplifting and you can’t help smile when around her. Jan gave me a tour round the acreage which is full of art installations. I especially love the Hard Mattress and the endless concrete creations holding hens and chicks. A visit to Hungry Holler is special, and it’s extra special when creativity is in the air. After consuming such delicacies as Coney Islander, Lays chips, and a couple Modelo’s one of Jan and Marc’s next projects arrived, a 1957 boat. Glass, paint, bottle caps and a host of bling that I cannot fathom will turn the old hull into another amazing work of art at Hungry Holler. A little bit of creativity is springing forth on my needles lately as well. I’m working on a new scarf design that’ll be perfect for just a dash of color and femininity during the warm months. Maaema (pronounced May-emma) is the Estonian name for Mother Earth and a fitting name for this sweet little scarf depicting a field of flowers. The sample shown here in Lost City Silk, is about half finished. The completed scarf will use about 400yds and be approximately 9-10 inches wide and 60 inches long. As I’m working on the original one of my test knitters is also working on the pattern, which should be released in early April. If you’ve been waiting on the release of the Sangiovese Stole – it’s here! The pattern is now available in the online pattern shop. var gaJsHost = ((“https:” == document.location.protocol) ? “https://ssl.” : “http://www.”);document.write(unescape(“%3Cscript src='” + gaJsHost + “google-analytics.com/ga.js’ type=’text/javascript’%3E%3C/script%3E”)); var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker(“UA-xxxxxx-x”);pageTracker._trackPageview();
8 thoughts on “The Signs of Spring

  1. I blush positively salsa dancing (love that yarn). Let it be known, LCD is a gracious guest. She comes not empty handed. She brings tasty brew (Modelo) and the best potato chips on the planet (Lay's). She documented–via photography–the berthing of the new old boat. She patted the dog. Performed post-prandial clean up. All silverware accounted for.

    Preceding opinions can be taken to the bank as mortal lock fact.

  2. What a lovely place. I LOVE the hard mattress. I have never seen one and what a beautiful piece of artwork for a garden.

    Your lace knitting is gorgeous. I am envious because I love lace work but am very intimidated to knit it (I have a lack of attention and patience with pattern work)

    Thank you for joining Fiber Arts Friday! I look forward to seeing more of your posts.

    Andrea

Leave a Reply

