Did you see it?

As midnight neared Chris took our camping mattress outside to inflate. He put it in the bed of the trailer we use to haul stuff around the farm. I took a brief nap so I wouldn’t doze off.

Outside bundled in hats, scarves and coats and snuggled under blankets in the wet night we watched the moon change. As the shadow crossed the moon we noticed a cloudy halo surround it. Shooting stars occasionally darted across the night sky. Dogs barked in the near and far distance. The moon darkened.

A panting was heard not far from us, near the wood pile. Not one of our dogs from the sound of it, a coyote? In the woods coyotes howled and yipped in wild abandon, maybe one had ventured across the creek.

The moon wasn’t disappearing. It was turning a burnished red as the shadow overtook the brilliant white. I wondered about how primitive humankind had reacted to these events. A primeval spookiness settled over me and a jitter shook my breathing. Exhalations fogged my glasses as I pulled my scarf over my mouth.

Slowly the world above me changed and the only white in the sky came from the stars. I looked through the binoculars that Chris had brought. The spookiness faded as I stared at the moon. It seemed more solid now to me and more magical as well.

~~~~~

I didn’t stay in our cozy outside bed to watch the moon reappear bright and white in the night sky. Holding on to that image of a burnished red orb seemed more important.

As Mama Donna Henes would say – this Solstice was a celestial auspicious occasion. 
 
I’m glad I saw it with the man I love on his birthday.

……..

Did you see it? As midnight neared Chris took our camping mattress outside to inflate. He put it in the bed of the trailer we use to haul stuff around the farm. I took a brief nap so I wouldn’t doze off. Outside bundled in hats, scarves and coats and snuggled under blankets in the wet night we watched the moon change. As the shadow crossed the moon we noticed a cloudy halo surround it. Shooting stars occasionally darted across the night sky. Dogs barked in the near and far distance. The moon darkened. A panting was heard not far from us, near the wood pile. Not one of our dogs from the sound of it, a coyote? The coyotes in the woods howled and yipped in wild abandon, maybe one had ventured across the creek.The moon wasn’t disappearing. It was turning a burnished red as the shadow overtook the brilliant white. I wondered about how primitive humankind had reacted to these events. A primeval spookiness settled over me and a jitter shook my breathing. Exhalations fogged my glasses as I pulled my scarf over my mouth. Slowly the world above me changed and the only white in the sky came from the stars. I looked through the binoculars that Chris had brought. The spookiness faded as I stared at the moon. It seemed more solid now to me and more magical as well. ……..I didn’t stay in our cozy outside bed to watch the moon reappear bright and white in the night sky. Holding on to that image of a burnished red orb seemed more important. As Mama Donna Henes would say – this Solstice was a celestial auspicious occasion. var gaJsHost = ((“https:” == document.location.protocol) ? “https://ssl.” : “http://www.”);document.write(unescape(“%3Cscript src='” + gaJsHost + “google-analytics.com/ga.js’ type=’text/javascript’%3E%3C/script%3E”)); var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker(“UA-xxxxxx-x”);pageTracker._trackPageview();

5 thoughts on “Did you see it?

  1. I went to bed last night hoping I'd wake up but because I was exhausted from staying out too late the night before, I didn't set an alarm. One of the dogs woke me up at 2:20…perfect timing. I went outside and looked at the moon for a good long while. The guard dogs were busy in the woods surrounding the farm. After coyotes or raccoons, I suspect. The burnished red was an amazing color. I, too, wondered what pre-scientific people thought.

    I love your description. Love, also, that you all took it all in.

  2. What a wonderful description!

    We are in the Caribbean where, if even visible here on a clear night, was not visible due to overcast skies.

    Thanks for sharing your description of the event!

    Lois

Leave a Reply

