Vacation and bears

As of Friday 12 November I’ll be on vacation meandering and hiking around Utah and New Mexico where no doubt I will find inspiration for new colorways – or maybe just get lost in the beauty of the desert Southwest. It’s happened before.

According to my father I’ve been to Arches National Park before, but since I was an infant I don’t think it really counts. Today my father told me a story about our stopping there on a cross country trip in 1959 and finding a mother bear in the park bathroom. I’m halfway sure the bears are hibernating now. You think he was trying to scare me or make me laugh? I’ve decided it’s cold and the bears are hibernating now. Yes – I’m certain – the bears are hibernating. Uh huh.

If you’re ordering yarn it will be mailed when we return to the farm sometime around Thanksgiving.

Happy Autumnal Knitting Everyone!

As of Friday 12 November I’ll be on vacation meandering and hiking around Utah and New Mexico where no doubt I will find inspiration for new colorways – or maybe just get lost in the beauty of the desert Southwest. It’s happened before. According to my father I’ve been to Arches National Park before, but since I was an infant I don’t think it really counts. Today my father told me a story about our stopping there on a cross country trip in 1959 and finding a mother bear in the park bathroom. I’m halfway sure the bears are hibernating now. You think he was trying to scare me or make me laugh? I’ve decided it’s cold and the bears are hibernating now. Yes – I’m certain – the bears are hibernating. Uh huh. If you’re ordering yarn it will be mailed when we return to the farm sometime around Thanksgiving. var gaJsHost = ((“https:” == document.location.protocol) ? “https://ssl.” : “http://www.”);document.write(unescape(“%3Cscript src='” + gaJsHost + “google-analytics.com/ga.js’ type=’text/javascript’%3E%3C/script%3E”)); var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker(“UA-xxxxxx-x”);pageTracker._trackPageview();

7 thoughts on “Vacation and bears

  1. Wow. Have a really great holiday! Please do report back with all the good information. Some of us don't even have childhood myth of having visited Arches National Park so we'll have to go on the real info from you.

    I'm sure all bears are hibernating.

  2. I don't think the bears are hibernating yet, but I will say that the likelihood of you coming across a bear in the bathroom is pretty rare. Much more likely you will run into a snake in there. So be careful where you squat! And have a good time!

  3. Can't wait to see photos. My co-worker went to Arches, Grand Canyon, and about 3 other parks in that part of the country in October and it looked really awesome.

    Safe travels!

Leave a Reply

