Vacation preparation

Anjou Scarf!
Anjou Scarf

There is an obscene amount of knit preparation (piddling) going on in advance of our vacation. No I didn’t cast on three new lace projects to take with me. I cast on one, well two – but I already frogged one so it doesn’t count. That other baggie is purely a protective measure. (I’m sure I’m not the only knitter who does this right?) It is just yarn already wound into a cake. Nothing to obsess over. Sure there’s a pattern or three in the bag with it. One never knows what could happen. There’s green yarn and purple yarn – and there’s a persimmon Anjou scarf already begun  – so all the bases are covered. All of the KP Options needles (those not already in a WIP) are in a zipper bag with a nice assortment (read – all) of cables, along with the essentials (stitch markers, crochet hook, scissors etc).

                                                                       
What did I cast on you ask? Daenerys by Wandering Cat Studio.

Daenerys Shawl!
Daenerys Shawl

I’d tossed some random sea silk lace weight into a dark green dye pot ages ago and stumbled upon it the other night when I was stash digging. It’s perfect for a dragon inspired shawl. The other yarn is a 700 yard skein of Knitting Goddess Cashmere and Silk lace yarn. It’s uber thin – cobweb thin some might say. What patterns? Well – I’m torn so I’m taking three options. Lilac Lace Leaf by Nancy Bush, Echo Flower Shawl (yes I’ve already knit two – so what?) and Swallowtail (yes it’s a repeat knit – I know I know).

I’ve done a lot (not much really) amount of other prep too. We’ll be camping at Arches and Canyonland before heading to Taos and Sante Fe so I’ve got camping utensils washed, cloth napkins ready, some dishtowels, a basin…yada yada. Today I realized that we don’t have camping dishes to take (I have no earthly idea what we used last time). I’m opposed to using disposable so I’ll have to come up with something. Same for the coffee cups. The stovetop moka is ready too, it’s perfect for camping. “Grind” coffee beans has been added to the list of last minute things to do. The camping stove is setting in the mudroom beside the ice chest.

Because I’m getting too old (and so is someone else who will remain nameless) to sleep on just the therma-rests we ordered a mattress for the tent. It inflates in just over a minute using the plug from the car and an extension cord. Mattress and tent are already in the back of the wagon. Stakes, hammer and axe are on the list.

The popup lantern needs new batteries and four D cells are ready to go. One headlamp has been found but I’ve yet to search for the second. Yes, I know they’re geeky but they’re also hands free lighting which comes in handy. Don’t laugh until you’ve used one.

I’m rereading slowly through Little Women so I think it’ll last me most of the trip. We’ll stop at bookstores along the way so new material will be available. (Yes I expect to stop at knit shop or two but I like to be extra prepared with yarn and patterns on hand.)

We plan to leave the farm by this coming Friday. I’m sure we’ll take off on time (or else I may go slightly crazy). There’s no set return date. That doesn’t mean we aren’t certain we’re coming back – just that it’s open (we do travel kind of loose don’t we?). We’ll be home sometime around Thanksgiving.

If you want to order yarn – Monday or Tuesday is your last chance until late in the month. I’ll leave the online shop open but orders will be processed when we return.

(What makes you think I’m panicking?)
………….
There is an obscene amount of knit piddling going on in prep for our vacation. No I didn’t cast on three new lace projects to take with me. I cast on one, well two – but I already frogged one so it doesn’t count. That other baggie is purely a protective measure. (I’m sure I’m not the only knitter who does this right?) It is just yarn already wound into a cake. Nothing to obsess over. Sure there’s a pattern or three in the bag with it. One never knows what could happen. There’s green yarn and purple yarn – and there’s a persimmon scarf already begun  – so all the bases are covered. All of the KP Options needles (those not already in a WIP) are in a zipper bag with a nice assortment (read – all) of cables, along with the essentials (stitch markers, crochet hook, scissors etc). What did I cast on you ask? Daenerys by Wandering Cat Studio. I’d tossed some random sea silk lace weight into a dark green dye pot ages ago and stumbled upon it the other night when I was stash digging. It’s perfect for a dragon shawl. The other yarn – a 700 yard skein of Knitting Goddess Cashmere and Silk lace yarn. It’s uber thin – cobweb thin some might say. What patterns? Well – I’m torn so I’ve got three options. Lilac Lace Leaf by Nancy Bush, Echo Flower Shawl (yes I’ve already knit two – so what?) and Swallowtail (yes it’s a repeat knit – what of it?)I’ve done a lot (not much really) amount of other prep too. We’ll be camping at Arches and Canyonland, before heading to Taos and Sante Fe so I’ve got camping utensils washed, cloth napkins ready, some dishtowels, a basin…yada yada. Today I realized that we don’t have camping dishes to take (I have no idea what we used last time). I’m opposed to using disposable so I’ll have to come up with something. Same for the coffee cups. The stovetop moka is ready too, it’s perfect for camping. “Grind” coffee beans has been added to the list of last minute things to do. The camping stove is setting in the mudroom beside the ice chest. Because I’m getting too old (and so is someone else who should remain nameless) to sleep on just the therma-rests we ordered a mattress for the tent. It inflates in just over a minute using the plug from the car and an extension cord. Mattress and tent are already in the back of the wagon. Stakes, hammer and axe are on the list. The popup lantern needs new batteries and four D cells are ready to go. One headlamp has been found but I’ve yet to search for the second. Yes, I know they’re geeky but they’re also hands free lighting which comes in handy. Don’t laugh until you’ve used one. I’m rereading slowly through Little Women so I think it’ll last me most of the trip. We’ll stop at bookstores along the way so new material will be available. (Yes I expect to stop at knit shop or two but I like to be extra prepared with yarn and patterns on hand.) We plan to leave the farm by this coming Friday. I’m sure we’ll take off on time (or else I may go slightly crazy). There’s no set return date. That doesn’t mean we aren’t certain we’re coming back – just that it’s open (we do travel kind of loose don’t we?). We’ll be home sometime around Thanksgiving. If you want to order yarn – Monday or Tuesday is about your last chance until late in the month. I’ll leave the online shop open but orders will be processed when we return. var gaJsHost = ((“https:” == document.location.protocol) ? “https://ssl.” : “http://www.”);document.write(unescape(“%3Cscript src='” + gaJsHost + “google-analytics.com/ga.js’ type=’text/javascript’%3E%3C/script%3E”)); var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker(“UA-xxxxxx-x”);pageTracker._trackPageview();
2 thoughts on “Vacation preparation

Leave a Reply

