Going the extra mile (or trek across the farm) is worth every bit of effort.

Going the extra mile (or trek across the farm) is worth every bit of effort.

For days I’ve done nothing but work in the studio, not that working in the studio is a bad thing, actually it’s a wonderful thing. But tonight I had a harebrained notion to cast on a wee little diversion with the lovely handspun silk that I bought in Winfield. It’s only 160 yards over two itty bitty skeins. Really, that’s just a little bit of yarn right?

I’ve decided on the Morning Snack Scarf pattern, which is really just a bit of faggoting. I think it’ll show off the lovely teal and green silk.

But I’m in for the night and walking across the farm to the studio to wind the yarn just seemed – excessive. It’s only 160 yards. Did I mention that? It’s silk. I mentioned that right?

Uh huh. Yeah, you know what happened. Never think you can wind silk by hand. It’s worth the steps to get the swift.

always use a swift - always

2 thoughts on “Going the extra mile (or trek across the farm) is worth every bit of effort.

  1. The same thing happened to me when I tried to wind a skein of alpaca. But mine was worse because a pair of frisky kittens got into the yarn basket before I could finish. It took me HOURS to unravel it all. Hope you have better luck 🙂

Leave a Reply

