Sweet Days of Summer

Ahh the Sweet Days of Summer have arrived here on the farm. I love being able to walk outside and breathe and not have the desire to rush back inside where the AC is cranking away. 
Last week I caught this little lady spinning a lovely web over by the woodpile. If you’re not up on your spiders, this is a golden orb. I shared this photo with my friend Jan over at Hungry Holler (because she’d just been caught in a web herself). We both admired the zig-zag. She chatted with her buddy Russel Studebaker – general nice guy and Tulsa World horticulture writer – he said there were several possibilities for the zig zag but the one he mentioned that I prefer is that it’s just one of Nature’s mysteries.

 

Late this afternoon I caught this little guy sunning himself on our back porch. (I have no idea why I’m applying gender presumptions but I’m just assuming the spider is female and the lizard is male.)  Cherokee County has an abundance of lizards or so it seems. I’ve seen an amazing one with red and blue neon stripes, but have yet to catch it still long enough for a photo. 
 
Tonight I’ve mixed up a little local flair for dinner. Some of the ingredients were from the Food Co-op, some from the Cherry Street Farmer’s Market. The base recipe is Grecian Quiche from Cooking by Moonlight, but I switch things around usually depending on what’s fresh at hand. This time I’m using Creme Fraiche from Wagon Creek Creamery, red peppers from Three Springs Farm, ham from Pork & Greens, and a local herbed goat cheese called Fish Bait. I use local eggs when I can, but I was too late to get them on the food co-op. Ima Layer eggs sell fast.  I’d love to say I made the pie crust myself, but I’d be lying if I did. 
To quote one of my very favorite duos from the 1970’s, Seals & Crofts –
“See the smile a-waitin’ in the kitchen, food cookin’ and the plates for two.
See the arms that reach out to hold me, in the evening when the day is through.
Summer breeze, makes me feel fine, blowing through the jasmine in my mind.”
 

var gaJsHost = ((“https:” == document.location.protocol) ? “https://ssl.” : “http://www.”);document.write(unescape(“%3Cscript src='” + gaJsHost + “google-analytics.com/ga.js’ type=’text/javascript’%3E%3C/script%3E”)); var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker(“UA-xxxxxx-x”);pageTracker._trackPageview();

4 thoughts on “Sweet Days of Summer

  1. mmm looking at your quiche made me hungry!!
    But spiders are definitely not my thing! Not as bad as ticks, but yeeesh, I do not like them! (But I also react VERY badly to spider bites, so that's an excuse!)
    It's still gloomy and rainy down here, but it's supposed to be hot and dry for the weekend, yes!

  2. Wow.
    Summer Breeze was one of my very favorite albums in late High School early college.
    It's still one of the top umpty (and yes, it IS on my iPod).
    Thanks for the reminder.
    again.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

