Home is a good place to be.

Ivar gaJsHost = ((“https:” == document.location.protocol) ? “https://ssl.” : “http://www.”);document.write(unescape(“%3Cscript src='” + gaJsHost + “google-analytics.com/ga.js’ type=’text/javascript’%3E%3C/script%3E”)); var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker(“UA-xxxxxx-x”);pageTracker._trackPageviewIndiana was beautiful, lush and green. We passed cornfield after cornfield on our fourteen hour drive to Nappanee. We left a heat wave of 106, and the mid-80’s of Indiana were a relief.

There is a sign in Nappanee that says Embrace the Pace, and I assume this is their town slogan. I wouldn’t say it was exactly the pace that impressed me about the small town. It was the streets, or rather what was happening on the streets and roads. Along with the usual cars and motorcycles the streets and roads in and around Nappanee were used by horse drawn Amish buggies and bicycles. All were equal on the pavement. The cars didn’t rush or honk at the slower vehicles. Bicycles were a common sight, ridden by Amish and non-Amish. It was not unusual to see a grandmother pedaling along in her long dress and white cap, or a family in shorts and t-shirts, or teen boys in straw hats and homemade pants. All shared the road, as was their right. 

We took our tent to sleep in while at Amish Acres. The organizers had mowed a little secluded spot adjacent to the vendor parking for those of us with tents. I’d forgotten how much I enjoy sleeping with the noises of Nature not muffled through walls and windows. As sleep began to come the first night there was some strange creature in the brush outside the tent and only a few feet away. I never identified it’s odd call, and honestly couldn’t tell you if it was a bird or something crawling on the ground. It didn’t matter, I was relaxed and happy. On subsequent nights it was cooler and I pulled for covers as darkness fell. We were near a train track and I felt a little bit comforted by the train from remembering the years living in downtown Tulsa where I could hear trains each night. On Saturday night the clip clop of horse-drawn carriages lasted late into the night and I wondered if there was courting going on, or just people returning from visiting neighbors.

After being away for a week, I was ready to sleep in my own bed again when we pulled in late Monday evening. The dogs were happy to see us, and jumped and yipped in joy when we stepped out of the van. I would swear that Tess jumped as high as my shoulders, and twisted and turned in some acrobatic maneuvers that defied belief. There are few things quite so uplifting to the spirit as returning home to a much-loved dog that is thrilled to see you again.

As for knitting progress, I’m nearly finished with the first Nutkin sock, and am maybe five repeats into the Brandywine Shawl. The urge to design struck while we were in Indiana and I was thankful to find a few leftover balls of yarn in the bottom of a bag and an extra needle to play and swatch. Yesterday I spent the better part of the day charting out a new shawl, which when I finish this post, I will begin swatching. I don’t want to jinx myself so will only say – it’s a triangle and it’s lace. 

Despite returning to daytime temps still over 100 degrees, it feels good to be home. 

2 thoughts on “Home is a good place to be.

  1. Glad you had a good time in Indiana. I love your description of your happy dogs. When Pete and I went on vacation last fall, we came home two days early because we missed our dog so much. And yes…we were ready to sleep in our own bed again, too. 🙂

    Can't wait to see the new design!

  2. Lovely description of Amish Country.
    I remember in college it was a huge treat to go to the Amish area in Iowa and eat at one of their fabulous family style restaurants.
    My daughter's dog Ninja is so named because of the mid air moves she used to make when happy to see her!
    Glad you're home safe.

Leave a Reply

