Of Lox and Locks

The past few days have been a flurry of prep for future shows. This Saturday we’re attending the Ponca City Herb Day, if you’re in the Ponca City, Oklahoma area be sure top stop by Cann Garden and take a walk through the lovely park, and check out the vendors. It’ll be a hot day (high around 100F) but the park has plenty of shade trees to enjoy. var gaJsHost = ((“https:” == document.location.protocol) ? “https://ssl.” : “http://www.”);document.write(unescape(“%3Cscript src='” + gaJsHost + “google-analytics.com/ga.js’ type=’text/javascript’%3E%3C/script%3E”)); var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker(“UA-xxxxxx-x”);pageTracker._trackPageview();

This morning I made a mad dash into Tulsa for a dentist appointment. After an hour getting my teeth cleaned and polished the dentist stepped in to check things out. He looked in my mouth and at the xrays and declared them boring. Boring? Boring as in nothing for him to do but say he’d see me in six months. 
I like a dental visit like that. Makes a girl feel pretty good, so good that I called my daughter and invited her and her partner Lance out for lunch. HIllarey suggested we go to the Bagel Cafe. Hillarey and I both chose the Lox with Wasabi Cream Cheese bagel sandwich from the Specials Board. She picked an everything bagel but since I’d just had the pearly whites cleaned I went with a sesame bagel. No need to push things with those poppy seeds – no matter how much I love them. Lance had avocado and turkey on a jalapeno bagel. (The man’s not afraid of hot stuff.) Now, it’s been a while since I’ve had lox for lunch. Last (and maybe the only) time was while we were traveling in Ireland a few years back. I’ve got to say that the Lox with Wasabi Cream Cheese was a tasty sandwich. But don’t you wonder how they come up with a combination like that? 
While I was living large in the big city, Chris drove over to Heaven Sent Farm and picked up two merino fleeces for me. Here’s one merino photo from the farm tour a few posts ago.  When I walked into the studio this afternoon two big bags of fiber were waiting for me. I slung on my apron and tuned up the ipod to Splendid Table and got to work skirting the fleece. These merino fleeces are beautiful. I set a few locks (seems to be a day for lox and locks huh?) aside to keep just because the crimp is just so intriguing. 
Three hours later – or three podcasts later – my hands were smooth and subtle and I’d made a good dent in starting the cleaning process so these two fleeces can be sent to market soon. 
When I walked back across the pasture to the house it was nearly 6pm and I was ready to get in the kitchen. Listening to Splendid Table does that me. Does that happen to anyone else? 
While I didn’t happen to have on hand any of the ingredients for the recipes that Lynne discussed with the callers or the interviewees I did have two heads of cabbage (one green, one purple) from the farmers market, some fresh carrots too. So I whipped up a huge bowl of cole slaw using fresh cream from the market mixed with white pepper, salt, a little sugar, some celery salt and my secret ingredient – pear infused white balsamic vinegar. Oh this stuff is good! (Alessi is the brand.) Then I quickly blanched the carrots while some chicken was frying. It’s a pretty simple farm dinner but some days that’s what suits the needs – with what I have on hand. 
Although next farmers market I’m coming home with some chard, because I have a new recipe to try with chard, white raisins and orange flower water. Sounds good doesn’t it? 
3 thoughts on “Of Lox and Locks

  1. Look ma, no cavities! LOL!

    Your bagel post makes me crave an everything bagel from my favorite bagel joint (2 1/2 hrs away…in Cleveland). When we go up to visit Romeo's family, we always hit the Jewish and Russian bakeries and bring back a haul of bagels, rye breads and pastries for the freezer. Nothing like it…

Leave a Reply

