When you’re cold…

I want to give a shout out to all the knitters who showed up at the 
Sand Springs Herbal Affair on Saturday despite the drippy weather!  
For those who aren’t in the Oklahoma area, the Sand Springs Herbal Affair is the big mama of herb events in our area. It’s been going on for more years than I can remember – although I do recall taking Hillarey when she was barely school age to play in the Peppermint Alley tent that is set up for young children with games galore. There’s also a stage established in the town square where live music is played, complete with straw bales in case you have a mind to sit a spell. 
It’s a busy day for us usually and my friends Merry and her partner Katrina did some essential herb shopping for me early in the day. Next week I’ll be planting witch hazel, dill, thyme, rosemary and a long list of herbal goodness in my new herb bed.  Good friends Danny and Cathy were our amazing helpers this year in the booth and I’ve got to say we probably couldn’t do an event like this without their help! If you visited our booth you saw first hand how important they were!
Other than shopping for herbs I have friends who simply must have a Pineapple Whip each year in Sand Springs, or a blueberry pie from the Amish ladies. I picked up a few bags of homemade noodles from the Amish then went over to their hot food tent and had a steaming bowl of chicken noodles for a late lunch.  
My parents, cousins, friends and strangers stopped by the lavender booth to stock up on plants, soap and even yarn. In fact, one of the nice women I met last year at Stringtown in Ft Smith, Arkansas when I was working with Kay on the Traveling Shawl project came by the booth.  Stringtown is a great shop and if you’re near Ft Smith stop in and chat with Elizabeth the owner. You’ll like her. Buy some yarn while you’re there too. 
The lavender booth was even visited by Tulsa Derby Brigade skaters!  At one point I looked up and spotted Criminally Insane the lightening fast Brigade jammer. Now how cool is that?

This morning the weather here on the farm is still drippy. It’s chilly too, not quite enough to fire up the wood stove but enough to pull on some hand knit socks. Or… to start knitting a new scarf.  Yeah…I’m like that. No name yet for the scarf since I’m kind of making it up as I go along.  There’s a border I like and a center I like, and maybe a second border between the two… Pictures when it begins to look like something – or – when I decide just where I’m going with it for certain.  
I’ve loved the shading of the On A Clear Day yarn since I first pulled it out of the dye pot. Very gentle shading I must say. So yes, I’m cold and I cast on something to keep me warm. 
Am I the only person who does such things?  
5 thoughts on “When you’re cold…

  1. Can't wait to see the scarf project!
    Glad you had a good day at the Herb fair!!
    And I knit lace whenever and start new projects because a pattern calls to me, or a yarn, and I just must start it up right then and there!!

  2. Nope…and I'm still crocheting shawls for Mother's Day gifts. My house is plaster and Lathe so its got an adobe covering outside…doesn't help inside where its cooler…thus even on nice warm days outside, I'm inside with a blanket on my lower body to keep warm and crocheting away in the recliner. When I am able to walk again, I'll be outside soaking up the nice weather!

  3. I'll be knitting scarves all summer, probably. But it is an especially delightful pursuit on rainy, raw days.

    We enjoyed going shopping for your herb list! It was lots of fun being the personal shoppers, and it was also a good excuse to fondle lots of plants and pick out just the right ones. I'll get you a start of nettle and all those other medicinal herbs we discussed, get them to you in May when you're back at the market.

  4. I saw the coverage of the festival on Channel 2. Bless your heart it was cold and raining. Next it will probably be muggy and hot. I told my husband that we are definitely going next year. It looks like a very kid friendly festival.

Leave a Reply

