Some things haven’t changed in two years…

On 14 March 2008 this blog began with a post about fleece.  My first sentence was “I’ve been fortunate as a knitter.”

I still feel this way.var gaJsHost = ((“https:” == document.location.protocol) ? “https://ssl.” : “http://www.”);document.write(unescape(“%3Cscript src='” + gaJsHost + “google-analytics.com/ga.js’ type=’text/javascript’%3E%3C/script%3E”));
var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker(“UA-xxxxxx-x”);pageTracker._trackPageview();
Today I’ve spent the afternoon skirting and washing more raw fiber.  I’ve partnered with the lovely women of Cordero Farm, who have generously supplied me with several fleeces.  A month or so ago I sent a small batch of their fiber to be spun (with bamboo for extra sheen) into yarn. Yarn which will before long be available on this website and at our local farmers market, just as the fleece I’m cleaning this week will be.  Some of the fleeces are light enough for dyeing, some are dark rich colors which will be left natural.  
Several weeks ago I mailed several other fleeces, that time llama from Country Garden Farm which will also be spun into luxurious Oklahoma yarn that will be available online and at the market.  
My inner fiber geek is pretty thrilled with this whole adventure…so thrilled that I took a photo of a huge mound of raw wool drying.  I know anyone who isn’t into fiber is likely to roll their eyes at this post and thank me for identifying what exactly is in the photo…and that’s okay.  
4 thoughts on “Some things haven’t changed in two years…

  1. Good heavens. When I see that stuff in the yard and pasture I run the mower over it….

    Naw. I see beauty! I wish my head of hair could do that. I've been pining for some dreds. Thank goodness there are natural limitations to my ridiculous decent into weird oldladyhood.

    You work hard for your knittin'

Leave a Reply

