Mmario Mystery Shawl Clue 3 and the Rooster

I’ve always wanted to do a photo montage of the wonderful things that I see along the blacktops and the dirt roads around our farm.  When I bought the new little camera some months back I proclaimed an intent to keep it always in my purse ready for use.  I’ve been reminded of those words numerous times.  Usually when it’s left on my desk.

Yesterday when I went to drop off our outgoing food coop order with our route driver I took my camera.  I turned the bend along the way and in the middle of the road was a splendid looking rooster!  A fine arrogant strutting rooster.  He was fast though and as I pulled to a stop and dug for the camera in my purse the rooster skedaddled across the road and into the brush.  (click on the photo to enlarge)var gaJsHost = ((“https:” == document.location.protocol) ? “https://ssl.” : “http://www.”);document.write(unescape(“%3Cscript src='” + gaJsHost + “google-analytics.com/ga.js’ type=’text/javascript’%3E%3C/script%3E”));
var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker(“UA-xxxxxx-x”);pageTracker._trackPageview();
He’s a fine specimen isn’t he?  Now I’m somewhat enamored lately with chickens, mostly due to the ones in our neck of the woods, and think that maybe if we didn’t have such crazy farm dogs (emphasis on crazy) we might just need to get us a few chickens and a rooster.
Can any of my esteemed readers tell me what breed this guy and his lady friend are?  Lisa?? Linda?? Bueller?  Bueller?
And for this weeks installment on the Mmario Mystery Shawl here’s a photo of Clue #3 completed.  I still think it’s a Luna Moth – but what do you see?
3 thoughts on “Mmario Mystery Shawl Clue 3 and the Rooster

  1. Hmmm, it's so narrow, I'm wondering if it's going to be more like a stole. In which case those could be flower stems? Hard to guess!
    And I know nothing about chicken breeds, but that is a lovely pair!

  2. Hard to tell from the photo, but by the shape of the hen, they look to be a variety of Old English Game chickens. Can't be certain of that, though.

    We're going to host Urban Chickens starting this year, which means sharpening up carpentry skills to make a chicken ark. All girls because we're in the city and old cocky's crowing wouldn't be welcome, and we're going to try Buff Orpingtons & Cuckoo Marans to start. A bold adventure indeed.

    You can come over & play with the ladies any time, have a bit of coffee, etc.

    I love this blog, Denise. You've inspired me to take a knitting class, and I've just started scarf #2, playing around with alternating garter and stockinette stitching. I aspire to sox at some point.

Leave a Reply

