It’s my prerogative.

And I’m not going to feel a bit guilty over it.

As my mother would say, “nosireebob”.

Since our return from New York I’ve been knitting (see you thought I’d forgotten it was a knitting blog didn’t you?) on my blue llama Icarus Shawl.  The yarn is a lovely pale blue that I dyed myself.  But I cannot knit another stitch on it.  Not now.  It’s been stuffed into a bag and I’m setting it aside.  For now.
Why?  Two things really.  Make it three.
I’ve finished Chart 3 and still have about 1/3 of the third 300yd ball left.  When that ball is finished I’ll be joining on the last 300yd ball of this yarn.  The last.  I’m a bit nervous about that fact.
Backstory…
My history with Icarus is that it was the first lace shawl that I attempted back when I was a greenhorn knitter.  The shawl was originally published in Interweave Knits Summer 2006.  It captured my attention right away although I knew nothing about lace.  I had on impulse bought one skein of lace yarn at a plant festival that spring and thought it would be perfect for the shawl that soon enthralled me.  Little did I know.  Very little because there was no way I had nearly enough yarn in that hand dyed hand spun yarn to tackle Icarus.  It was misery at times, due mostly to my lack of knowledge.  Then to my lack of yarn.  Last year I frogged that miserable shawl, my first shawl, and the yarn is still in my stash.
Yesterday I spent the day dyeing yarn.  You’ll see it soon enough – but let’s just say it’s silk and has turned out just as I had hoped.  I had pushed away from my mind just how much I love knitting with silk.  But working with this new dyed yarn has brought it back to me – big time!
I have a small skein of about 460 yds from another dyeing day that just may become my next project, The Echo Flower Shawl. I don’t have enough to make it large like my silk Aeolian but enough to make a good scarf sized triangle shawl.  The pattern is more Estonian Lace and I happen to have beads to match this little gem of a skein.
So really – I’m playing havoc with my WIP (works-in-progress) list but it’s not like I’m stepping away from the stove with the fire going.  Really it isn’t.
See how pretty the yarn is?  Who could resist?  Okay the photo sucks but the yarn and beads are pretty.
Those two forums I joined on Ravelry that are supposed to encourage me to finish my WIP’s?  I’m quitting them.  I’m quitting them.  I don’t have a WIP problem.

Nosireebob.

var gaJsHost = ((“https:” == document.location.protocol) ? “https://ssl.” : “http://www.”);document.write(unescape(“%3Cscript src='” + gaJsHost + “google-analytics.com/ga.js’ type=’text/javascript’%3E%3C/script%3E”));
var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker(“UA-xxxxxx-x”);pageTracker._trackPageview();

3 thoughts on “It’s my prerogative.

Leave a Reply

