Open to suggestions….

The current reading material is a novel loaned to me by Christopher’s father Paul.  Vindication is a novelized telling of the great feminist writer Mary Wollstonecraft‘s life.  Paul recently read this novel for his book group.  He has a very good sense of what I enjoy reading and asked if I’d like to borrow it after the book group review night.

It’s a good but quite dark book thus far.  Right up my alley – realistic portrayal of women’s lives.
While I’m not a well educated woman (a college drop-out who simply wasn’t prepared for college at the high school I attended) as Chris has noted, I am fairly well read.  I usually roll my eyes when he says this but I’m starting to feel much better about the compliment (and it’s woefully difficult for me to believe compliments since I know most are just lip service).  Several times the author, Frances Sherwood, has referred to other novels, classics, usually during dialogue.  Mary Wollstonecraft (the fictional character) laments at one point of becoming like Moll Flanders, and I immediately knew the reference to the book and the meaning of her fear.  I love when that happens.
During breakfast this morning I decided that while I have several novels lined up in my queue that I refused to postpone, I would very much like to make 2010 my year for the classics.  What suggestions do you, Dear Readers, have for me?  Classic fiction – classic non-fiction – biographies of historical figures (particularly writers and artists) – I’m open.  Don’t be shy – list your recommendations in the comment section below – and thank you!
6 thoughts on “Open to suggestions….

  1. oh my glad you asked definately read to kill a mockingbird , a great classic , last of the mohicans , (loved the movie daniel day lewis was soooo hot in that movie ) , got all steamy there for a minute , oh yeah classics , the yearling by marjorie kinnan rawlings ,lord of the flies ,a northern light by jennifer donnelly not a classic but an excellent book just the same . well I think I have given you enough from my point of view so take it for what it is worth and god bless .

  2. also check out my blog I have two books on there that I reviewed and do book reviews occasionally . Oh a must read for you . “saving fish from drowning by amy tan .

  3. For pure fun, you can't beat the Three Muscateers by Dumas.
    Another favorite, though perhaps too modern for this list is The Magus, by John Fowles.
    And very long and complex is The Alexandria Quartet by Lawrence Durrell — this group of novels completely changed my view of how we all “know” our friends, and what is happening in our lives.

  4. I need to think about this some more but I agree with Nolaboard's suggestion of The Magus.

    Steinbeck' East of Eden would be a possibility. As well as any of Faulkner's or Faulkner's short stories (A Rose for Emily is one of my favorites.)

    And what about Updike? The Witches of Eastwick is wonderful – great character development of three different women…the movie didn't do it justice (especially the end).

    This is not yet a classic, but have you read about the Secret Life of Bees? It is one of my favorites – great character development – wonderful portrayal of women's lives. I love it so much, I am sorry that I've read it (I would like to have that first time reading pleasure again)- lately nothing comes close and I find myself comparing everything the Secret Life of Bees.

    I will keep thinking….

    Take care,
    denise (adoptashelterdog on Rav)

  5. Well, as an ex literature student, this question is right up my alley, specifically if you are into women's issues.

    Tennant of Wildfell Hall by Anne Bronte – one of the first tales of domestic violence.

    Anything by Elizabeth Gaskell or George Eliot. George Eliot's books are usually called for their male characters, but are all about the women.

    Evalina, Fanny Burney.

    Anything by Virginia Woolf. (The Waves and Orlando are my two favourites.)

    Nana by Emile Zola.

    And if you're feeling particularly game, give Proust's In Search of Lost time a shot. Although it did take me a year to read it. Enjoy!

  6. You know it is interesting that two other people mention The Magus. It was a memorable book, for sure!
    How about some Anthony Trollope? The Barchester novels are wonderful, and Funny!

Leave a Reply

