Silk in the country

Who wears silk and beads in the boondocks? Well – me apparently!

The Blue Silk Aeolian is off the wires and will be going to Kat tomorrow who will take it to the Tulsa State Fair competition for me while we’re in Winfield. I pulled the pins and wires out this afternoon so we could get a few quick shots. I’ve said this over and over – but I’m madly in love with this shawl, the silk and the beads. It’s even better blocked (what isn’t?) and so light and airy that a gentle breeze will lift the wings.

The tricky part of this photo shoot was avoiding the dogs who discovered us – Katie has a tendency to jump on you but I threatened her life if she jumped at the shawl. I don’t think she was terribly afraid and was thankful that Chris managed to call her to his side for a few moments – thus avoiding dogicide in the name of fine shawl knitting.

var gaJsHost = ((“https:” == document.location.protocol) ? “https://ssl.” : “http://www.”);document.write(unescape(“%3Cscript src='” + gaJsHost + “google-analytics.com/ga.js’ type=’text/javascript’%3E%3C/script%3E”));
var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker(“UA-xxxxxx-x”);pageTracker._trackPageview();

7 thoughts on “Silk in the country

  1. Love the shawl and the hairstyle by the way . I wish you luck and hope all goes well at the fair and you win first prize since you put in all that work . good luck . Let us know how it turns out .

  2. Thank you everyone for being so supportive and encouraging!

    It's been more than a decade since I've attended the fair and I have no idea what to expect in the category of “Hand Knit Ladies Apparel”. No lace category –

    D~

  3. Thank you everyone for being so supportive and encouraging!

    It's been more than a decade since I've attended the fair and I have no idea what to expect in the category of “Hand Knit Ladies Apparel”. No lace category –

    D~

Leave a Reply

