Reviving a lost art

In this fast paced crazy immediate gratification world when was the last time you wrote a letter?

Honestly for me it’s been a little while. Notecards yes – a week or two ago. I really do miss writing letters though. When I was younger I had numerous pen pals. My first must have been when I was ten and moved from Tulsa to the small town where my folks still live. My best friend in Tulsa, Patti, and I wrote weekly. We had oodles of stationary and notecards and each envelope contained a joy of words and pretty paper. Then later in life my cousin Patty in California and I traded letters. Often it was one notecard and pages and pages of lined colored paper. When my daughter lived with her father in Vegas for a year in high school I usually wrote weekly letters to her. I know she read the letters but she never wrote back – which wasn’t really necessary.

I lost track of Patti in the late 1970’s. Patty more recently. I miss them and the letter writing. Hillarey is back in Tulsa, we see each other and talk on the phone occasionally (neither of us are phone people). And if I were honest I’d admit I miss the practice of letter writing. It’s different from the journaling process. Maybe since we’re living further from Hillarey and I don’t see her as often I’ll begin writing her again…

Today I saw this website, Everyday Correspondence. If you’re a letter writer you might enjoy it too.

var gaJsHost = ((“https:” == document.location.protocol) ? “https://ssl.” : “http://www.”);
document.write(unescape(“%3Cscript src='” + gaJsHost + “google-analytics.com/ga.js’ type=’text/javascript’%3E%3C/script%3E”));

var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker(“UA-xxxxxx-x”);
pageTracker._trackPageview();

Leave a Reply

