Time for another gifting!

Yummy yummy yummy I got love in my tummy….

Remember that song? I’m dating myself aren’t I?

This afternoon I sat fat and full of a yummy yummy lunch singing the chorus. I’ll never be a great chef but Chris asks me often if I really don’t mind cooking every meal now that we live on the farm full time. I do not actually cook every single meal we eat. We’ll have lunch in town after market on Saturdays and often one evening meal in Tahlequah once a week or so.

But really? I love messing around in the kitchen. Simple dishes are my favorites and this time of year it’s easy to throw together something simple, fresh and appetizing. I buy fresh produce at market each week. In my frig are fresh carrots, onions, red & blue potatoes, sugar snap peas, parsley, sweet gold little tomatoes (first of the season!), a bit of lettuce, two kinds of squash, cucumbers, and goat cheese. All from the local farmers market. From the Oklahoma Food Coop I have a brisket, lamb Italian sausage, buffalo patties, cheddar cheese curds, sweet cream butter, yogurt in three flavors, parmesan crackers and fresh roasted coffee. Oh and lest I neglect to mention – I have incredible treats from market too – toffee w/ chocolate, a scrumptious brownie and a very small pineapple upside down cake. This stuff is like crack…completely addictive. For fruits I’m still relying mostly on the grocery store beyond berries and peaches that are available local right now.

I’ve finally accepted the fact that I’ll never be one of those uber-skinny chicks that looks sleek and svelte in everything. I love to cook and I love to eat, which even though I try to remain within healthy portions adds a little soft roundness to my frame. This is the way it is….

So back to the song…
Yummy yummy yummy I got love in my tummy…

I’ve got two skeins of lace weight Knit Picks Alpaca Cloud with beads to offer up to anyone who posts in the comments with the group, the title, and the year that song hit Billboard – along with the list of a few items they’ve bought from local farmers, ranchers or chefs (name the market or the grower) in their area within the past week. To sweeten the deal, a bar of our handcrafted Lavender Bud soap will be included. I’ll throw the names in a hat and pull out the lucky winner on 29 June 2009. (US only)

Previous winners on this blog excluded.

Yummy yummy yummy I got love in my tummy!

Eat Local – Eat Fresh this summer!

var gaJsHost = ((“https:” == document.location.protocol) ? “https://ssl.” : “http://www.”);
document.write(unescape(“%3Cscript src='” + gaJsHost + “google-analytics.com/ga.js’ type=’text/javascript’%3E%3C/script%3E”));

var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker(“UA-xxxxxx-x”);
pageTracker._trackPageview();

13 thoughts on “Time for another gifting!

  1. What a cool contest!
    Unfortunately I haven't bought *anything* but Wendy's food (once) and a pastry at Panera in the last week. I sure am enjoying the lip stuff I got from you at the Cherry St Farmers' Market on WWKIP day though!

  2. Yummy, Yummy, Yummy by The Ohio Express' released & on the charts in May 1968 (gulp)

    Just bought corn salsa & handmade pizzas from Prairie Gypsies. Headed to OSUOKC farmers market tomorrow morning to get soap from Laughing Rabbit Soap Company.

  3. That would be “Yummy Yummy Yummy” by the Ohio Express, hitting Billboard in 1968: May, June, July, and August.

    Followed by “Chewy Chewy”… Sheesh, I can't believe I know the words to those songs.

    The produce I've picked up at our local Farmer's Market on Saturday mornings (Otero County Fairgrounds) enlivens my meals all week. My own garden is coming in nicely, however. Mmmm, fresh tomatoes, squash, green beans, soybeans, and garlic!

  4. 1968 Billboard for Yummy, Yummy. I almost remember the day. I am my own local farmer, and have harvested from my garden this past week: cherry tomatoes, one tomato just ripe, green beans, swiss chard, yellow squash, a mix of lettuces, all of my garlic, and carrots. I did visit Lavender Hill Vineyard and Farm south of Tulsa. Great homegrown lavendar products, of which the soaps are my favorite.

  5. I do remember the day – that was a very full year – assassinations, the riots at the Democratic National Convention in Chicago – among other incidents.

    I belong to a CSA group and receive a bag of fresh, certified organic produce for 24 weeks – Crestview Farms grows the BEST produce around – you can find their products at the Farmers' Market at OSU/OKC. This is my 3rd year as a CSA member – I recommend it highly.

  6. Yummy Yummy Yummy
    1968
    Ohio Express

    I recently picked up some fabric zippy bags for friends from a local coffee shop. They sell them for some of the local artists. Otherwise, I haven't really found a farmer's market near my new home yet.

  7. The song is Yummy Yummy Yummy, by the Ohio Express. From 1968.

    I love the farmer's market, and joined a CSA this year. First box included three kinds of kale, green garlic, radishes and some marvelous lettuces. I can't wait for the next one!

  8. Track Title: Yummy Yummy Yummy
    1968, Billboard Greatest Hits
    Artist: Ohio Express

    Yummy, Yummy, Yummy!
    I got love in my tummy,
    And I feel like a-lovin you:
    Love, you're such a sweet thing,
    Good enough to eat thing
    And that's just a-what I'm gonna do.

    I'm not old enough to know the original, but have a passion for “vintage” music! (20s-50s & up) and my little nephews love it when i sing this one!

    PS: I love the way you write… adding to my blog list 🙂
    ~Shy~

  9. “Yummy Yummy Yummy” by the Ohio Express,on the Billboard in summer 1968.
    Went to our new farmer's market yesterday and bought radishes and mint for tea and some local honey. Will buy more next time as I didn't really know what to expect for the first time in Waupun, Wisconsin.
    Lynda

  10. I remember the songs but since I've read the comments feel like it would be cheating to give date and group. I've bought green beans, new potatoes, hand woven baskets, a onions, and I'm eagerly waiting for tomatos and cantalope. I went to the Lavendar Festival in Apache and bought some Culinary Lavendar Buds for cooking and some lavendar cookies and slices from 2 different lavendar cakes.

  11. I bought some corn from our local flea market last weekend! Normally we don't go to the flea market since they charge to get in now but we went to the mile high flee market here in denver. However we do shop at Sprouts quite often and they buy from all local farmers. They always have the best produce!

    And the song is really not fair since I can read the lady above me! LOL But here ya go –

    Yummy Yummy Yummy- by Ohio Express, summer 1968

    Jenn
    Leftsox on rav

  12. I just picked up my CSA basket from Tracie's Community Farm in just-over my town's line, Fitzwilliam, NH. This week's basket includes bok choi, leaf lettuce, Japanese white turnip, garlic scapes, oregano, savory, radishes, sugar snap peas, spinach, mesclun, chard, a loaf of cinnamon raisin bread (Orchard Hill Bakery, Alstead, NH), and a jar of Bee Tree Farm's (Chesterfield, NH) “yummy” red raspberry jam with seeds!

    I was finishing 8th grade in May 1968 when Ohio Express made the charts with Yummy, Yummy, Yummy.

    I'm a member of the Book Challenge group too.

Leave a Reply

