I may be weird.

var gaJsHost = ((“https:” == document.location.protocol) ? “https://ssl.” : “http://www.”);document.write(unescape(“%3Cscript src='” + gaJsHost + “google-analytics.com/ga.js’ type=’text/javascript’%3E%3C/script%3E”));
var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker(“UA-xxxxxx-x”);pageTracker._trackPageview();
It wasn’t until this morning that I realized my choice of reading material could be considered – odd, weird, strange, disgusting. Below and to the right I keep a list of the books I’m reading for the year. I enjoy looking at other people’s reading lists and thought the few people who read my blog might enjoy the same pastime.

During the busy season at the farm, like now, the only time I get a chance to read is at breakfast. Chris sits across from me reading a newspaper, the New Yorker or National Geographic. He’ll occasionally comment on an article and give me brief little snippets of what he’s absorbed in. I’ve been known to do the same, although I think he humors me – especially if I’m reading something about knitting.

Currently I’m reading The Sharper Your Knife, the Less You Cry by Kathleen Flinn. If you enjoy cookbooks, travel and memoirs – I can highly recommend this less than 300 page paperback. The America author upon losing a well paid corporate job decides to fulfill her lifelong dream of attending Le Cordon Bleu. (Well haven’t we all?) A new love, an old city, and relearning a language makes for an enjoyable read especially when it’s thick with saucy tales of the persnickety chefs, cooking demonstrations, Paris, and the cutthroat world of the world’s most famous cooking school.

Each morning I try to get one short chapter read while drinking coffee and eating oatmeal. Each chapter evolves around a lesson in class and a personal anecdote. Chapter 17 is titled A Sauce Thicker Than Blood. I’ve, of course, heard of Coq Au Vin but never had the chance to partake. What I didn’t know was that coq is French for rooster. To quote Flinn, “…the original dish was finished by adding rooster blood, which coagulates and thickens when exposed to oxygen, lending the flavor a certain je ne sais quoi.”

For some reason I felt the urge to share this little tidbit with Chris over the breakfast table. I was thrilled with the new knowledge of this well known recipe. When I began telling him about the blood of the rooster he cocked one eyebrow and gave me that look – the look that questions my sanity. And that’s when it hit me. Most people do not appreciate the gory details of a meal over a meal.

Hmmm

One thought on “I may be weird.

Leave a Reply

