An FO. A CO. And a little sleet, ice and snow…

We made to our farm in time to carry plenty of wood onto the porch and snuggle in. Winters storms in our very rural locale usually signal isolation, not something I’m opposed to personally. I’m sure I’m not the only knitter who dances inwardly with glee at the prospect of limited outside chores and long hours beside the wood stove.
I expected to finish my Fiore di Malanzana and begin my Laminaria so I was well prepared with the necessities of life – I mean my knitting necessities.
Tuesday afternoon I finished my Fiore di Melanzana – then literally danced around the house! This shawl is good knitting mojo. I felt I could accomplish anything – I was soaring!!
What’s a knitter to do? After a hike down to the creek and around the north pasture I sat back down beside the stove with a cup of hot tea and cast on my Laminaria. I’m using the green KAL cashmere/alpaca from The Knitting Goddess. This yarn is dreamy! When Chris wasn’t looking I couldn’t resist rubbing it against my cheek because it felt so soft in my hands.
Thursday had warmed up enough that the trees were shedding their ice with a lovely shattering of icicles all afternoon. The sun was bright so I grabbed my knitting and we took a few photos.
The Fiore di Melanzana photos are of the shawl pre-blocked. I’ll put it on the wires this weekend and take better photos next week. I’m in love with this shawl. It’s huge – but perfect to fling across the shoulders when I feel dashing and wild.
On the Laminaria I’d just finished the Star Chart. Finding a place to photograph it was a bit tricky – but the tractor bay was empty and the chains seemed like a perfect solution for holding the circular needle.





var gaJsHost = ((“https:” == document.location.protocol) ? “https://ssl.” : “http://www.”);
document.write(unescape(“%3Cscript src='” + gaJsHost + “google-analytics.com/ga.js’ type=’text/javascript’%3E%3C/script%3E”));

var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker(“UA-xxxxxx-x”);
pageTracker._trackPageview();

Leave a Reply

